Broken clouds 8 °C Broken clouds

Events Calendar

Sunday, February 5, 2017

All day
Victoria Film Festival - Play @ The Fort

Victoria Film Festival - Play @ The Fort

Date: 
Friday, February 3, 2017 - 9:00am to Sunday, February 12, 2017 - 5:00pm

Every day at The Fort, take in a different Virtual Reality experience, brought to you by that lovely man, Shealand Keais, and Victoria’s virtual reality arcade, Vic VR. They are accessible all day.

With performances from Messy Max, Matt Stanyer and more, see the website for more details!

Location: 
Fort Tectoria
777 Fort Street
Victoria, BC V8W 1H2
Canada
 
 
Before 1am
1am
2am
3am
4am
5am
6am
7am
8am
9am
10am
11am
12pm
1pm
2pm
3pm
4pm
5pm
6pm
7pm
8pm
9pm
10pm
11pm
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
SCY: The Notorious Ujjayi

SCY: The Notorious Ujjayi

Date: 
Sunday, February 5, 2017 - 8:30am to 9:30am
Have you been feeling hungry for some non-stop hip-hop? Yearnin' for some earnest earvibes that'll let you express yo'self? Look no further than next Sunday morning. Join funkmaster flex, Carly Greene Hill (tiny.writer) as she guides you through some big breath, chill beats and hip (hop) openers. This edition of Sunday Community Yoga is available to all levels, meaning everyone is invited to come kick it on Sunday, February 5 from 8:30 - 9:30 AM. This class is on the house. They've got lots of h20, and a limited number of extra mats. 
Location: 
Victoria, BC
Canada
 
 
Victoria Film Festival - SEE @ The Bay

Victoria Film Festival - SEE @ The Bay

Date: 
Repeats every day 10 times .
Friday, February 3, 2017 - 9:30am to 5:00pm
Saturday, February 4, 2017 - 9:30am to 5:00pm
Sunday, February 5, 2017 - 9:30am to 5:00pm
Monday, February 6, 2017 - 9:30am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, February 7, 2017 - 9:30am to 5:00pm
Wednesday, February 8, 2017 - 9:30am to 5:00pm
Thursday, February 9, 2017 - 9:30am to 5:00pm
Friday, February 10, 2017 - 9:30am to 5:00pm
Saturday, February 11, 2017 - 9:30am to 5:00pm
Sunday, February 12, 2017 - 9:30am to 5:00pm

What is SEE @ The Bay?

A) An Art Exhibit of Canadian Film posters.
B) A pop-up cinema featuring perspectives from regional filmmakers
C) A look at interviews and influences of filmmakers and artists appearing at Victoria Film Festival 2017

The Victorian Film Festival will also be presenting short films from the regions and voices of Canada, the new talent who have something to say visually to make us think or make as laugh, they will be shown as four different sets of shorts, as follows:

Location: 
The Bay Centre (Lower level of The Bay Centre, next to centre court)
1150 Douglas St
Victoria, BC V8W 3M9
Canada
 
 
 
 
Extracting Amazing Creatures from Your Imagination with Liam Lloyd

Extracting Amazing Creatures from Your Imagination with Liam Lloyd

Date: 
Sunday, February 5, 2017 - 11:30am to 1:30pm
Liam will show you how to delve deeply into your own imagination and pull out wild characters that will come to life on your paper or canvas.
 
This is an exercise in letting go and embracing the final product, no matter how crazy it can be! Liam will walk you through a brainstorming session aimed at liberating your creativity and breaking free of your "artist block". You will also learn to let go of your anxieties, blocks and walls in regarding their artistic process.
 
Location: 
Victoria, BC
Canada
 
 
 
 
Wonder Sunday: Our Multicultural World

Wonder Sunday: Our Multicultural World

Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday 4 times .
Sunday, February 5, 2017 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm
Sunday, February 12, 2017 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm
Sunday, February 19, 2017 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm
Sunday, February 26, 2017 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm

This month we celebrate the ways that culture gets expressed across BC. It is through our rich diversity of traditions, and sharing across traditions, that we can better cultivate empathy and understanding. This month marks the beginning of the Chinese New Year, Black History month and International Mother Languages Day.

Location: 
Victoria, BC
Canada
 
Love, Poetry and Chocolate

Love, Poetry and Chocolate

Date: 
Sunday, February 5, 2017 - 1:30pm to 4:30pm

Join City of Victoria Poet Laureate Yvonne Blomer and other local poets for a delicious afternoon of poetry readings, personalized poems and chocolate.

Guest poets will include Victoria's new Youth Poet Laureate Maita Cienska, inaugural Victoria Poet Laureate Carla Funk, in addition to Wendy Morton, Julie Paul and Terrence Young. The event will include book draws, prizes and complimentary treats courtesy of Silk Road and Rogers' Chocolates. 

Register at gvpl.ca or call 250-940-GVPL (4875) for more information. Registration begins December 5

Location: 
Victoria, BC
Canada
 
Victoria Film Festival - Sips 'N' Cinema PERSONAL SHOPPER

Victoria Film Festival - Sips 'N' Cinema PERSONAL SHOPPER

Date: 
Sunday, February 5, 2017 - 1:30pm

A treat of scrumptious food, delicious libations and a captivating film, with a side measure of film discussion with head programmer, Donovan Aikman and others.

You will first see Personal Shopper at the Vic Theatre followed immediately by the restaurant portion of the event, which will take place at Table 21 (777 Douglas st).

ADVANCE TICKETS ONLY. Tickets are $25 (+tax) and include film, food, drink and discussion. Must be 19 years or older to participate.

Location: 
The Vic Theatre
808 Douglas St
Victoria, BC V8W 2B6
Canada
 
 
Tam Plays Sibelius

Tam Plays Sibelius

Date: 
Sunday, February 5, 2017 - 2:30pm to 4:30pm

Hear Terence Tam as he soars through the haunting and passionate Violin Concerto of Sibelius. The iconic and expressive First Symphony of Brahms concludes this concert. A world premiere by Jeffrey Ryan, inspired by Canadian poet Patrick Lane’s poem Water, is also on the program.

Location: 
Victoria, BC
Canada
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Ghostly Walks

Ghostly Walks

Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday and every Friday and every Saturday 48 times .
Friday, January 6, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, January 7, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday, January 8, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Friday, January 13, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, January 14, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday, January 15, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Friday, January 20, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, January 21, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday, January 22, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Friday, January 27, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, January 28, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday, January 29, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Friday, February 3, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, February 4, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday, February 5, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Friday, February 10, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, February 11, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday, February 12, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Friday, February 17, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, February 18, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday, February 19, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Friday, February 24, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, February 25, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday, February 26, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Friday, March 3, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, March 4, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday, March 5, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Friday, March 10, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, March 11, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday, March 12, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Friday, March 17, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, March 18, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday, March 19, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Friday, March 24, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, March 25, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday, March 26, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Friday, March 31, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, April 1, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday, April 2, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Friday, April 7, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, April 8, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday, April 9, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Friday, April 14, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, April 15, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday, April 16, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Friday, April 21, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, April 22, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday, April 23, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm

Behind Victoria’s old-world charm lie tales of eccentric characters, heroic deeds, intrigue, love, humour, hangings, murder… and GHOSTS! Ghostly Walks start in front of the Visitor Information Centre at 812 Wharf Street.

Location: 
Victoria, BC
Canada
 
The Improv Cabaret

The Improv Cabaret

Date: 
Sunday, February 5, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Paper Street Theatre and The Victoria Event Centre present an eclectic evening of improvised theatre.
 
This month our feature performers are:
  • *** ANTS *** featuring Nicole Olszewski and Byron Kjeldsen 
  • And a first half comprised of: THE IMPROV JAM featuring improvisers from around Victoria.
  • COPPER AND PICKLE featuring Brooke Cameron (Pickle) and Marina Gray (Copper)
  • BELKIN AND HURLEY featuring Daniel Belkin and Brett Hurley
  • ADHDT featuring Alexandra Forman and Ryan Steele
Location: 
20 Centennial Square
Victoria, BC V8W 1P7
Canada
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Business Listings

Helping you connect with a downtown business is a big part of what we do at the DVBA.

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with what's happening downtown!